Confessions of a Roadkill Voyeur

WARNING: THIS IS A DISGUSTING POST.

“Don’t Look.” “Don’t Look.” “Don’t Look.”

‘possum.

I don’t know what it is about road kill, but I am compelled to look at it. Nay, even worse, I am compelled to try and identify it. It is a disgusting habit. I try to control myself when there is someone else in the car with me. But I can’t help it. They could be telling me their life’s story or some terrible tragic thing and I end up saying things like,

“coon”

in the middle of a conversation. Needless to say, I get quizzical looks and a polite “I’m sorry, what?”

But, as a result of my vast un-mentionable experience, I am pretty good at calling out road kill at 60 mph. Some of it is easy.

“Deer.”

Smaller is harder. Opossum, raccoon, squirrel, rabbit, groundhog, kitty. Skunk, although one of the smaller ones is also easy due to the lingering odor and the stripe. Birds are nearly impossible unless it is large like a goose or duck.

Because of habit of “noticing”, I have seen some pretty interesting things dead on the road. And ya know, road kill is regional. I have seen porcupine in Maine, coyotes out west; armadillo in Georgia; (that was a shock. I actually pulled over and got out of the car for that one.), a bear and a porcupine up here on the mountain as well as a mink or weasel or something similar. The list goes on and on.

I have a friend who even plays a road kill game on long car trips instead of the license plate game. So, I am not the only one, but I digress.

Even though I notice road kill, I always try to avoid hitting animals or birds (it has only happened to me once-the thump of a robin as it impacted the grill-shudder, I will never forget it.) I will brake, swerve or honk if I need to. I have crept behind a beaver family with a long frustrated line of cars behind me until they got off the road. I have gotten out of the car to remove turtles from the roadway. It is a sad state of affairs that we have so many cars, and the animals are trying to live their lives in spite of us.

If someone is going really slow ahead of you, be patient, it could be she is keeping safe a mama duck as she moves her family from one pond to another or a entire flock of turkeys ambling across the road in their search for acorns or maybe, just maybe a couple of befuddled beavers.

3 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal

3 responses to “Confessions of a Roadkill Voyeur

  1. Yes, I do the same. But not the road-kill game, I kinda like that idea. Was that ok to say in public?

  2. Yup, the roadkill game is played by my friends Amy and Carol, a mother/daughter team. It is a sad state of affairs that they were so jaded to invent the game and that there are so many bodies to count.

Leave a Reply

