Last Beech Road Birdwalk

I lay considering the pitter-patter of rain on the windows.  Should I go to Beech Road or not?  Rain is not much of a barrier with the right gear, but I had to go to work right from the field.  On the other hand it is the last scheduled bird walk with Weis for the season and although migration is slowing down, there are still new arrivals daily.  I threw back the covers and headed for the shower.

When I arrived Suzanne was the only person there.  As we waited we watched the swallows zip by, a large flock of cedar waxwings settle onto a cedar (go figure), and a green heron erupt from the shoreline to find a comfortable snag.  Just as a carload of birders pulled up, a warbling vireo started a complex musical interlude.  Finding a smallish non-descript gray bird can be difficult in the flat light on a gray day.  But his song kept us focused.  Suzanne finally spotted him tucked into a fully-leaved out maple.   I found him once he flew and started to carol again.  Everyone had good looks.

We tracked many of the birds by ear.  But some of them were silent, elusive, intent on feeding, setting up territory and getting on with their lives.  They were not “wasting daylight” as my mother would say.   Among the later category I would put the mystery warblers; the silent ones that were high in the canopy, furtive maybe magnolias or canadas or drab olive tennesees.

Here is the list that I saw or heard–not counting the mysteries.  Not bad for an hour.

Redstart
Louisiana Waterthrush
Blue-winged Warblers
Chipping Sparrows
Green Heron
Tree Swallows
Rough-winged Swallows
Doubled-crested Cormorant
Ovenbird
Red-winged Blackbirds
Catbirds
Cowbirds
Blue Jays
Wood Thrush
Red-eyed Vireo
Robins
Blue-Gray Gnatcatcher
A few mystery warblers

Wood Duck with 7 ducklings

2 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal, migration

2 responses to “Last Beech Road Birdwalk

  1. Bob

    I will miss your weekly visit and glimpse into the highlands. I chuckled when I wrote this. It reminds me of Scotland and the clansmen.

  2. Hey Bob. Our local high school is the “Highlanders” so you are more right than you may have thought.

Leave a Reply

