Almost Favorite Woodpecker

Out of the corner of my eye, I happened to see the flash of white on wings.  Tracking the bird to a tree, I saw it stash an acorn in a tiny acorn-sized hole.  I walked around the tree looking it up and down.  The whole tree was a pantry full of carefully stored food.  Acorn Woodpeckers do the darnest thing.  I have seen them in both California and Arizona.  They are easy to see not only in trees but also drilling in telephone poles along the highway.  I love that.

My favorite woodpecker actually is the Pileated.  What’s yours?

12 Comments

Filed under Photos, Travel

12 responses to “Almost Favorite Woodpecker

  1. My favorite is yellow-bellied sapsucker (and not just because of the name).

  2. I have never seen anything like that. Absolutely fascinating behavior.

  3. That looks like a lot of hardwork. Great capture!

  4. Very cute. I wouldn’t mind a pantry like that.

  5. Definitely the Acorn — although they can be amazing pests as well. Sometimes they decide that the best place for their “pantry” is the siding on a house — they can be very destructive and hard to dissuade when that happens. Still, in a more natural environment, they are such a cool bird!

  6. Hey Liza Lee, Downy WP and Flickers are notorious for trying out the siding of the house. Yay. for vinyl.

  7. Downy WPs have been drilling into the north side of our house for years. I still love them.

  8. Cool! I have never seen this woodpecker. I just read up on these birds and they are fascinating!

  9. Now that is an amazing sight, and great behaviour to watch.

    You passed by my blog a few weeks back and said you’d love to come birding in the UK – I’m sure you’d have a great time, but I’m not sure what we’ve got to compete with that!

  10. I only see these guys when I travel out west, but they are great birds. My favorite woodpecker is the flicker – they are also very cool birds, plus they eat ants by the TON!

  11. Wren, Excellent point. Flickers do eat ants. Gotta love ‘em for that.

  12. My favorite is the pale-billed woodpecker. May be because it is not a common one.

Leave a Reply

