Skywatch

I went birding in Brazil with Richard Raby back in March.  It was a fabulous experience and Richard a great guide.  Note to self–I really should write up my thoughts and list from that trip and post them.  I love owls but rarely see them in the daytime.  Maybe it was the warm rain on a gray day, but these guys were everywhere.  Can you see the rain in the picture?

Check out the other Skywatchers too at SkyWatch Friday.

And for two-fers.  Wrenaisssance has hosted a terrific I and the Bird #83.  It is all about the joy of birds and birding and birders.  Check it out.

13 Comments

Filed under carnival, Photos, Travel

13 responses to “Skywatch

  1. I can see the rain. Still have never seen an owl, except in captivity. Would be awesome.

  2. Oh, I love this. The owl looks so cool, and yet so alert. And thanks for pointing out the rain – I would have missed the presence of the drops otherwise.

  3. That’s a wonderful photo of a beautiful subject. What a landscape!

  4. FABULOUS… I love to see the owls

  5. Wow – this is great. Is that a burrowing owl? I love that he seems to be enjoying the rain. It is also a neat scene – rain and a cactus – not two things I usually think of together!

  6. What a well captured owl.

  7. Yes, I can see the rain:) Have never seen an owl in real life, thanks for sharing:)

  8. What a wonderful shot, Bev! I, too, missed the falling raindrops at first glance. Too busy focusing on that handsome owl, I guess.

  9. Excellent capture of the owl! It looks so detailed. And you’re dedicated to hang out in the rain taking pictures of owls!

  10. Beautiful picture. I love it! And Burrowing Owls are one of the few owls that are active in the day, at least in Utah. :)

  11. Hi Beverly!

    Great nature /bird pic.
    All the elements of nature are here – Owl, rain, plant/cactus, foreground/mountains.
    TFS,
    regards,
    /tabib/.

  12. I’ve really got to get out birding more….this is a great shot!

  13. This is the kind of vacation pic I’d like to have! Thanks for the enlargement to see the rain. What did you wear on your head?

Leave a Reply

