Skywatch

I pulled up to the stop sign at the end of Beech Road heading to work after the Thursday Morning birdwalk.  I glanced both ways and then up.  Way above me a hawk soared, making lazy circles in the sky.  It was pretty high but as it turned and twisted in the air, the tail flashed red.  Migration is in full swing here, but this beautiful Red-tailed Hawk obviously had no intention of hitting the highway er, flyway just yet.

For other skies, noodle around out at Skywatch.

7 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal, migration, Photos

7 responses to “Skywatch

  1. Seeing the hawk flying so freely in such a clear blue sky is inspiring! Lovely pic!

  2. Beautiful…I often wish I too could rise up and fly like that leaving the heaviness of life behind!

  3. Beautiful hawk flight shot. Nice blue sky.

  4. Great shot–I can feel the updraft myself!

  5. Flying birds are difficult, aren’t they?
    Nice job.

    There’s nothing more inspiring than to stand beneath soaring wings.

  6. Don’t you wish you could do that? Great shot!

  7. Nice photo..we had a beautiful red-tail in our tree, but I couldn’t get the camera fast enough. I am only 4 years into my birding interest and starting in middle age is a pretty funny…

Leave a Reply

