Arizona Wish List

Ferruginous Hawk, Prairie Falcon,Montezuma Quail, Masked Bobwhite, Scaled Quail, Spotted Owl, Elf Owl, Painted Redstart, Red-faced Warbler, No. Pygmy Owl, Common Poorwill, Broad-billed Hummingbird, Williamson’s Sapsucker, Red-naped Sapsucker, Gray Vireo, Gray Flycatcher, Gray-breasted Jay, Chihuahua Raven, Mexican Chickadee, Varied Bunting, Painted Bunting, Lucy, Grace, Olive and the Green-tailed Towhee, LeConte’s, Sage, Bendire’s and Crissal Thrashers.  AND Sinoloa Wren.

All birds are good birds, but these will all be life birds for me.  I’ll tick them off when I see them.  Fingers crossed.

8 Comments

Filed under Travel

8 responses to “Arizona Wish List

  1. Ooooo, Elf Owl and YES, Broad-tailed Hummingbird and wow Gray-breasted jay and Chihuahua Raven, and yum a Mexican Chickadee and both those Towhees and awesome a Sinoloa Wren. I hope you see them and get good pictures! That way I can see them too! :)

  2. Good fortune with your list. Living here in Arizona, there’s always some new feathered creature for me to see. I tend to celebrate my January birthday by spending a few days down in Bisbee so I can visit old ghost towns and see how many new birds I can find.

  3. I have every confidence you will add the majority of these birds to your list. If not, there is always that next trip!

  4. Good luck with checking that list off. I’m sure you will have a grand trip, regardless.

  5. Cathy, I love Bisbee. What a great way to spend your birthday. There are cute gingerbread cottages over by Madera that are lovely for birding too.

  6. Funny thing. When I made this list, I didn’t take into account the migration. Never having birded in Arizona in the fall I simply had no idea. So I got many more life birds than are on this list but some of the one on it are not around this time of year-like the Red-faced Warbler. I LOVE BIRDING SURPRISES.

  7. Not for lack of trying; we missed both quail, Mexican Chickadee and all the thrashers. Oh well, there will always be next time.

  8. Birding the surprises is what makes birding, birding.

Leave a Reply

