Bird Photography Weekly

“Hey, what you lookin’ at?”

There is something endering about California Quail.  I am not sure if it is the fact that they are everywhere along the sides of the road or their plumpness, or their great family life or that little top feather.   I also love that one of them stand sentinel while the others feed.  The first time I saw one I was in Marin County, California driving up to Muir Woods.  I immediately thought of the Warner Brother’s cartoon the Crackpot Quail.  (You can see what I did every Saturday in my youth.)

To see other birds scope out Bird Photography Weekly.

6 Comments

Filed under Photos, Travel

6 responses to “Bird Photography Weekly

  1. It feels like Saturday morning. :) I love it when the quail show up in my neighborhood. I hadn’t seem for several weeks, and just yesterday there was a good group of males just hanging out down the street a bit.

  2. Pingback: » Bird Photography Weekly « Behind the Bins »Digital Photography

  3. They really are cuties. We have quail on the farm too, but they are little tiny creature.

  4. A great photo. I like the idea of one standing sentinel.

  5. For me, it’s definitely that little top-feather. I always thought it looked like the feather on a cartoon Indian brave. Have to admit, that old “Crackpot Quail” cartoon was the first thing that popped into my head when I saw your pic.

    Great post, Bev!

  6. How cute :) I love the sounds they make too!

Leave a Reply

