Gift giving for the aging bird lover

While browsing the book table at the local bird festival way back in the summer, I came across the large-print version of the Peterson’s guide.  I picked it up to flip through thinking of my mother but more my sister.  She is always searching for her reading glasses.  The descriptive paragraph has much less information but the picture of the bird, the map and text is large enough to read without glasses. This is perfect for the kitchen when a flicker of movement out the window pulls your eyes away from the tedious chopping of sticky dates for all of those Christmas cookies.  (You do keep binoculars on the kitchen counter, right?)

I immediately called sis on the cell phone to ask if she thought this might be a good gift for mom for Christmas. She loved the idea. But you and I both know who will be using it most…not my 77 year-old mother. Good thing we also bought her a new … oops best not say.  Ya never know.

It is nice to be from a family of bird lovers.

petersons-large-print

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Gift giving for the aging bird lover

  1. Wow, I like that idea! Thanks for the tip! I imagine my parents would enjoy a larger copy of their own for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

