Bird Photography Weekly

female-pine-grosbeak

Last winter was incredible with a terrific northern finch invasion.  I am hoping for something similar this year.  There are already lots of sightings of Pine Siskins and White-winged Crossbills plus the ListServ has a few reports of Snowy Owls north of us.  I hear the Snow Buntings are here too.  I hope to get to Spruce Run to see them this coming week when I AM ON VACATION.  Oh, sorry was I shouting?

Have there been sightings of northern birds by you?

To see other birds from around the world, check out Bird Photography Weekly.

7 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal, Photos

7 responses to “Bird Photography Weekly

  1. Great shot. Enjoy your vacation.

  2. Beautiful colors. My favorite photos are of the ones showing behavior…love the finch with all the berries. Hope you have a great vacation.

  3. Enjoy your well deserved vacation! Hope you get more great photos like this one!

  4. Hi Bev-
    Love the photo. Down here in Texas we have been seeing Juncos and Northern Flickers. I am keeping an eye out for the first American Goldfinches!

  5. Wonderful Pine Grosbeak amongst the berries. I saw my first last year courtesy of the winter finch irruption.
    I’m hearing reports of siskins around, yet have to see them and am still waiting on the arrival of the Evening Grosbeaks.
    A Snowy Owl was plucked out of the Hudson River near Albany NY recently.

    http://wildbirdsunlimited.typepad.com/the_zen_birdfeeder/2008/11/bird-news-in-the-region.html

    Thanks for sharing the pine grosbeak.

  6. Suzie

    I am so glad you have a picture if a female bird, most people post the colorful male. She is gorgeous and it is a wonderful picture!!!

Leave a Reply

