Bird Photography Weekly

tufted-puffins

The first and only time I saw Tufted Puffins I was so excited I grabbed the guy standing next to me (I am not so sure he was as completely enthralled as I was.) and started jumping up and down.  I had seen Atlantic Puffins in Maine and Nova Scotia, of course; but the western puffins had eluded me.  I think everyone on the boat was excited and for many of us it was a life bird.  It is so distinctive looking–the bills, the tufts.  It is right up there in the favorite bird category. 

To see other cool birds, check out Bird Photography Weekly.

8 Comments

Filed under Photos, Travel

8 responses to “Bird Photography Weekly

  1. I’ve only seen them at such a distance that they were just a blob on my water in my binocs. Thankfully, another birder confirmed what I was seeing. I wanted to jump up and down and hug him but I resisted the urge. REALLY seeing them would probably elicit that response! :)

  2. I would have jumped up and down with you too. I’ve never seen one, and would love to. They are so unique.

  3. Puffins are great. When you are on a long voyage its nice to see the flocks of tufted puffins on the high seas which creates excitement and extra stimulation.

  4. Lovely Birds – we missed them on our honeymoon :(
    But I guess that’s just a good reason to head back to the Pacific Northwest!

  5. Very cool, Bev! Only times I’ve ever seen any puffins have been in captivity, so that would be quite a life experience.

  6. Very interesting bird and great photos.

  7. Congratulations, Bev! Great photos, too!

  8. Pingback: Tufted Puffin - Fratercula cirrhata | Birds of the World

Leave a Reply

