King Eider in Piermont

king-eider

All Hail the King!  Well, I guess it’s more of a Prince at this point.

Once in a while the birding gods smile on me.  Late last night I saw that a juvenile King Eider had been spotted Sunday afternoon at the pier in Piermont, NY.  It was not verified and reported on the ListServ until yesterday.  Since I am on vacation, I decided to see if it was still hanging around today.  Unfortunately it was also pouring rain today, so I wasn’t sure if it was worth the trip.  But the pier is not that far, so off I drove windshield wipers slapping.

When I arrived, the parking lot by the ball field was empty, not a good sign.  But I drove out onto the pier anyway just to see for myself.  There were rafts of Ruddy Ducks and large flotillas of Buffleheads.  I saw a Song Sparrow, 3 Chipping Sparrows and a Mockingbird.   There were loads of Ring-billed Gulls.  But No Eider.  Or anything that looked like an Eider.  Or even anything big and brown.

Disappointed, I stood alone at the end of the pier in the pouring rain glassing the open water.  I saw a Great Cormorant wing past.  Watching it; I saw a large brown duck pop up in my field of view.  And low and behold, voila, one juvenile King Eider.  It was still there.  But there were no other birders.  Yes, it was teeming, but I have often birded in the rain.  True, the pictures are not great, but I do have some.

With the holiday coming up, I image the pier will be packed with birders in the next several days.  It was nice to have quality time with the King.

To see what this guy will grow up to look like, visit Picusblog he has a shot of an adult taken in Massachusetts.

5 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal, migration

5 responses to “King Eider in Piermont

  1. Great story, Bev! I love to read your adventures on Twitter.

    Do you have waterproof binoculars, or what do you do to protect them?

  2. They are waterproof, but I also stuff them in my jacket or shirt to try and keep them dry. I have also birded with an umbrella, it’s hard though.

  3. A King Eider and a Great Corm? Not bad for a morning birding in the rain…!

  4. Update, he is still there and appears to be feeding about 20 feet off the end of the pier.

  5. Pingback: Jeffrey A. Gordon » I and the Bird #90: Christmas Count Tally Rally

Leave a Reply

