Carolina Wren in winter

carolina-wren

Tea-kettle, Tea-kettle, Tea-kettle…I hear the resident Carolina Wren throughout the Spring, Summer and Fall, however, until this year, I had never heard a peep in Winter.  When I tidied the yard for the colder months, I neglected to bring in the unused wren house that Uncle Mellie made before he passed on.  Now, I find I have a highly visible yard bird.  Since pairs remain together on permanent territories, I wonder if he/she/they is/are snuggled into the house on the cold winter nights?  I wish the bears were down for the winter, so I could put out suet to help fuel that tiny body.  Heck, as long as I’m wishing, I wish that all my squirrels would go live deep in the woods far from my bird seed too.

3 Comments

Filed under backyard, Photos

3 responses to “Carolina Wren in winter

  1. Awe sweet. Are you going to leave that house out all winter now that you know someone is grateful for it?

  2. I love this puffed up wren photo with all the bare twigs. I hear Carolina wrens all winter long here in TN. We’re having a very blustery, cold intro to December today.

    I added your blog to my blogroll so I won’t miss any of your beautiful photos!

  3. Nancy Bowen

    A pair of Carolina Wrens only come here to Connecticut in the winter, when spring comes they are gone. They roost and eat suet just in the winter, does anyone know why they are not here all year round?

Leave a Reply

