Great Backyard Bird Count 2009

Pine Siskins

I wasn’t going to participate in the GBBC this year since I am leaving for Texas on Sunday morning and won’t be able to finish the weekend.  I half-heartedly noticed 2 Black-capped Chickadee, 1 White-breasted Nuthatch and 1 Downy Woodpecker yesterday morning when I filled the feeders.

BUT, this morning, I happened to look out the kitchen window and HOLY Pine Siskinagogo (if I can borrow the term from @ratcliffe).  There are hundreds of them in the backyard.  Literally.  They are EVERYWHERE: in the trees; on all the feeders, in the shrubs, the ground is alive with them.  I wish there was a way of sharing just what I am seeing.  It is like a scene from the “Birds” and would be frightening if they weren’t 5″ long.

pine-siskin-waiting1

Quick, run to the window.  What are you seeing?

12 Comments

Filed under backyard

12 responses to “Great Backyard Bird Count 2009

  1. wow …amazing….would love to see all those birdies in person..dont think they make it to Florida..

  2. Wow! I’ve never seen so many siskins!

  3. I would love to see some Pine Siskins too, but I think mine are all female House Finches. I am going to examine them all a little closer though. There’s always hope!

  4. I have only gotten two at a time here. I love the last photo of the two of them together. It looks like a mirror image.

  5. I love that. What an influx. I had about 30 at one time today. I say ‘about’ because I struggled to sort out the goldfinches in the gray, dull light we had today. If the little things would just be still!

  6. WOW! A siskin invasion!

    Nice images.

  7. In our yard, hundreds as well, all taking turns sunning themselves in the treetops, and then fighting at the feeder that I filled repeatedly. The cacophony of song was like a thousand fingernails running along fine-toothed combs. Magic happened today and we were in it!

  8. Red

    That’s just amazing… we had a House Finchalooza , but noticed an odd one in the bunch. Turns out, after a couple hours of research, it was a female Purple Finch so now I’m going through my pics of the males and adjusting my count.

    But they were nowhere near your numbers of Siskins! Wow!

  9. Very beautiful birds. Nice photo. :))) Did you visit South India? As far as I know the Indian Rollers can be seen more near rural areas than in big cities.

  10. Hey Bev, I am seeing the same thing you are. It is indeed a Siskinagogo ;-) Awesome isn’t it?

    And Red, I did the same thing after reading Vickies post on Purple Finches and looking through my photos from yesterday. Very cool.

  11. Red

    Yeah, last night I saw Vickie’s post too… i’m starting to know the differences.

  12. Cool! I love birdwatching in the winter! Such as it is here in Texas…

Leave a Reply

