Bird Photography Weekly

Boat-tailed Grackle

Look at that tail!  Let’s see–at the beach, in Texas, long wonky tail, must be a Boat-tailed Grackle.  I can usually tell the difference between the Boat-tailed and Great-tailed Grackle not by size, and the tail of a Great-tailed Grackle is a crazy thing to behold, but by voice and habitat.  The Boat-tailed Grackle is a beach-loving surfer dude (Ok, I made up the surfer dude part, but they are coastal).  While the Great-tailed Grackle is more inland.  Their ranges do overlap though.  The real key for me as to which is which, is their voices.  They could not be more different.  The Boat-tailed Grackle has a pretty ringing sort of call (and will always remind me of Florida for some reason)while the Great-tailed Grackle’s voice  is harsh and sounds like for all the world like crumpling a wad of paper.  Seriously.

8 Comments

Filed under Photos

8 responses to “Bird Photography Weekly

  1. One of these days, I will add this bird to my life list. So far I have the Common Grackle.

    Love the calling action in this photo.

  2. Pingback: Pages tagged "bird"

  3. You have a beautiful blog with a variety of bird species and images and vivid narrations ofcourse.

  4. Great photo and description!

  5. Nice bird. I saw my first grackles last fall while birding with my 9 yr old nephew. He was just as pleased to find them as I was – of course, he was pleased as punch just to be out there looking at birds. Me too.

  6. Great capture, Bev! I’m so used to just assuming either Common or Great-tailed by sight that I’ve never really tried to ID the local grackles by listening to their calls. I’ll have to pay more attention, especially the next time I head a little closer to the coast.

  7. Red

    I still need to learn songs… I’m more visual when it comes to identifying birds. I hear them all, but have a hard time describing the sounds and worst of all, remembering them :)

  8. I’d be happy seeing either one of them! :)

Leave a Reply

