Grassland Bird Survey

country road

As soon as I turned off the engine, I heard the sliding song of a Prairie Warbler.  While not one of the targeted species, at least it was something.  The grassland survey has been a disappointment so far.  The route maps were vague, and the variety and number of species were so low that I was disheartened.  Determined to persevere, and finished what I had started, I grabbed my pad and pencil, got out of the car, and sucked in a lungful of the aroma of the country: of grass, and cow manure and the sweet heady scent of the flowering Black Locusts. Ah, fresh country air.  I waited the requisite two minutes reveling in the big sky, then started to listen.

From the stream flowing through the field a Bullfrog boomed, drowning out every other sound. I listened in vain for any bird song.  I walked across the road hoping to put some distance between my ears and his voice; but it was only marginally better.  I tried tuning him out.  Red-wing Blackbirds were everywhere hopping up and down in the high grass;  Song Sparrows sang; (Bullfrog) Common Yellowthroat; (Bullfrog, again, egads were there more than one?) a Carolina Wren chortled from somewhere near the Bullfrog; a Catbird mewed in a hedge row; (Bullfrog) a Yellow Warbler sang sweetly; (Bullfrog).  Grrr, that dratted Bullfrog was getting on my nerves!  I crossed behind the car thinking my movement would startle the frog into silence.  I peered into the shadowed water.  I didn’t see it. Or hear it. I guess the ploy worked.  As flash of yellow caught my eye as a Meadowlark  landed in a tall roadside Cedar tree; I made a note, finally one of the target birds.  Hearing the faint buzz of a Grasshopper Sparrow, I whirled around to listen and look behind me.  Off in the distance wafted the bouncing song of a Field Sparrow.  I made more notes.  I glanced at my watch; my time was up.  As I walked back to the car, the Bullfrog started to bellow again.  I smiled to myself in a childish way and thought “Ha, ha, fooled you.” It will be interesting to see if he is still at it in a few weeks when I come back for Survey part II.

6 Comments

Filed under citizen science, Local schmocal

6 responses to “Grassland Bird Survey

  1. I agree. The grassland bird survey has been disappointing at best. I had similar results in my area of the county. We also had about 100,000,0000,000,000 RW Blackbirds.

  2. Hmm, grassland bull frog survey anyone? :-)

  3. Pingback: Pages tagged "bird"

  4. Great site love your great variety of warblers.

  5. Here I am…catching up on blogs after a crazy week in NYC…You have been quite the busy birder..

    Looks like a lovely spot to bird..
    did someone say Grasshopper sparrow? would love to see that bird!

    How often do you need to go back to the same location for this survey?

  6. Update: There was no bullfrog booming-to-beat-the-band, this time. Yay. But no Meadowlark, either.

Leave a Reply

