Bird Photography Weekly

Common Yellowthroat

Perhaps the most abundant warbler and certainly one of my faves, the masked Common Yellowthroat is easy to photograph.  Or at least it is in my experience.  The male will sit up on weedy sticks at roadside edges, in overgrown fields, hedgerows, salt or freshwater marshes and on woodland edges.  While I do not have them on the mountain, they are easy to find.

Last year, there was one that claimed territory next to the parking lot at Oil City Road in the Wallkill.  I seriously think it was nesting there.  He would sing away, then hop down and disappear into the weeds for a short visit only to fly up to his perch to belt out his song again.  He was quite the brave soul.

5 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal

5 responses to “Bird Photography Weekly

  1. I had one on my deck rail yesterday. Very vocal, and such a nice way to start the day.

  2. Howdee…
    I never get tired of seeing that bright yellow masked face! Always curious ..coming out for a pish…
    I find it a very cooperative and perdy bird to show a new birder.
    Nice pic of the cute fellow!
    Cheers!

  3. That’s a gorgeous bird! I would love to see one here in Kansas.

  4. Maybe yours could talk to their kin in Kentucky, who like to stay safely hidden in the brush whenever I am around!

  5. Maybe yours could talk to their kin in Kentucky who like to stay safely hidden in the brush whenever I come around!

Leave a Reply

