I Must Have a Secret Admirer

Robin's nest

The way to a girl’s heart is not usually through leaving her old bird nests.  But being a birding girl, it works fine.   I opened my front door to check if the contractor had started the work (alas, he has not) to find someone had left a Robin’s nest on my steps.  I don’t know who it was or why, but I love the gesture.

Maybe it was the contractor, the slacker.    This does not leave you off the hook, ya know.

Maybe it was the lawn guy who broke my concrete rhubarb leaf birdbath as a way of saying sorry.

Maybe I truly have a secret admirer, I love the idea.

But it was probably the neighbor girls across the street and not an admirer at all.  They do tend to leave me little gifts.

Have you ever recieved a gift from a secret admirer?

8 Comments

Filed under backyard

8 responses to “I Must Have a Secret Admirer

  1. Anonymous

    The leaf got broken? How bad? Can we fix it with cement glue? Or do I need to make you another one?
    Gale

  2. Gale, The leaf is in too many pieces. I’ll take a picture and email you. I’m going to need another one. :(

  3. Update: It was not the girls across the street, but they came running right over to see the nest.

  4. Your secret admirer took the time to discern what you’d really like!

  5. nobbiecat

    oh ..love that u have a secret admirer! what will they leave next?
    I have never had a secret admirer.

  6. I have only had one other secret admirer. I was MUCH younger, recently divorced and whoever it was left me a yellow carnation.

  7. I wish I had a secret admirer!!

  8. I have not had that luck either.

Leave a Reply

