Bird Photography Weekly

Snowy-bellied Hummingbird

The rain was falling in buckets, yet a tiny Snowy-bellied Hummingbird sat tenaciously on the top of a Heliconia.  He would make a foray out occasionally, but then return to his perch, point his bill to the sky and sit for long periods.  I stood on the deck pondering this then wandered out into the garden.  It turns out our long-suffering sprite had a terrific spot to wait out the elements.  Above his head and protecting him from at least some of the downpour was a large banana leaf.  What a smart cookie.

Here he is on a better day.

sbhu

I never saw him sit on that Heliconia again.

9 Comments

Filed under Photos, Travel

9 responses to “Bird Photography Weekly

  1. What a gorgeous hummer Bev! And excellent captures of the Snowy-bellied Hummingbird, I must add. Don’t tell me you saw this bird in New Jersey?

    I would love to see one of these up close and personal. How far do I have to travel to see this fellow?

    • No, not in NJ. We only have the Ruby-throated and the occasional vagrant. I saw many of these Snowys at the Canopy Lodge in Panama. A mere 5 hour flight away, probably less for you.

  2. Erik

    You really captured the snowy-bellied well.

  3. Great photo of the little hummingbird. I read heliconias and banana leaves and wondered where you were. I have the heliconias and bananas in my garden but certainly no hummingbirds here in Australia.

  4. Oh Bev, I’m so envious!!! Your Snowy-bellied Hummingbird is gorgeous!

  5. Wonderful bird! Must have been a great trip..such colorful birds!

  6. Lovely bird, lovely photo. You get the most out of every trip you take.!

  7. Wow…what a beautiful little hummer you captured. I love to watch them if I can catch them at the feeder and follow them up into the trees. If you didn’t know they were there, you wouldn’t see them.. Michelle

  8. birdingperu

    Bev, you keep on parading great birds I have not seen. I really MUST go to Central America soon. It is rediculous really being relatively close and quite cheap to get there from Lima. Great photos. See you in Peru soon!!

Leave a Reply

