Ghostly Encounter

After dropping off my taxes with the man, I decided to drive on down to Oberly Road in Alpha, NJ.  Oberly Road is a birding hotspot for wintering raptors, Snow Buntings, Horned Larks and the much sought-after Lapland Longspur.  Of course, I was hoping for Snow Bunting and the elusive Longspur.  While I got neither, there was a flock of dozens of Horned Larks swirling around and many sparrows.  It was a male Northern Harrier, however, that stole the show.

He appeared out of nowhere, made a few preliminary passes then dove onto a small dark something but then dropped it.  He coursed back and forth over the field intent on finding a meal.  After some minutes he wheeled off to cross the road to search in another field.  I was finally able to breathe again. I do love the gray ghost. I don’t see them often enough.

Oh yeah, and the Horned Larks were nice too.

5 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal

5 responses to “Ghostly Encounter

  1. That’s such a great birding spot.

  2. Wow, beautiful shot of the harrier, Bev!

  3. Dev

    Great work capturing the first image. The larger version must be quite sharp?

  4. lvn600

    Very nice! It was only a couple of years ago that I learned what a gray ghost was in birding terms. We used to use a fly type fishing lure which was called a gray ghost for trout fishing.

  5. Nice work Bev! i just drove across Oberly Road (which is within walking distance for me) and observed a Crow convention lol. There was a small flock of Starlings with them. The fields looked bare to me, but I didn’t have the bird’s eye view! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

