Birding weekend- Day 2, Garret Mountain

One of the Warbler during migration

With the warblers dripping from the trees, it was hard to leave the City (notice how it is always capitalized like it is the only one) yesterday but after walking for 5 hours and craning my neck all day, I was bushed. (Does that make me a birding lightweight?) On the ride home we chatted tiredly about what a great day it had been and how lucky we were to have hit it on a fallout. After some hemming and hawing (but being gluttons) we decided to try Garret Mountain today. I had missed some of the warblers that others had seen. More. I wanted more.

Like Central Park, Garret Mountain Reservation is a migrant trap. According to some of the emails, I had been getting there were great migrants there too. So I got up at 5 am for the second day in a row (on the weekend, may I add) and drove to Di’s house. When we got to Garret, whom did we spy, but Suzanne leading a field trip for Weis. We decided to tag along with her. Some of my buddies from the Thursday morning walks were there too.

The park was crawling with birders. Everyone was helpful in pointing out species they had seen up the path, or over on Wilson Road or down by the lake. The World Series of Birding is next week so many people were scouting.

Highlights for today were: Black-throated Blue Warbler, Chestnut-sided Warbler, Scarlet Tanager, Baltimore Oriole (I never get tired of them), Black-throated Green Warblers (You know I love them), Great-crested Flycatcher, Greater Yellowlegs, Spotted Sandpiper, Green Heron. All the rest we saw yesterday.

How is migration in your neck of the woods? Get out there, tell me what you are seeing.

Leave a comment

Filed under migration, Travel

Leave a Reply

