Ever want to be in a World Series?

What do you see?

A few years ago, some friends and I participated in New Jersey Audubon’s World Series of Birding and it was a hoot! (Get it? Hoot. Nudge, nudge. Eye rolling…Oh, never mind….) It is a competition and fundraising event. We were on the Passaic Pewees team out of Weis Ecology Center. But instead of the insane 24-hour marathon that the professional teams undertake, we met at the crack of dawn for owls, whippoorwills and other night birds, then birded from West Milford to Garret Mountain—all in Passaic county. I think it was more of a 12-hour thing. We saw or heard over 100 species. It was totally fun in a fast-paced non-competitive friendly, laughing, bird watching, bear-spotting kind of way. (Yes, we did see a gigantic bear; we were in West Milford after all.)

Well, the Passaic Pewees are on the prowl again on May 10th. If you would like to come and play; you can call Weis at 973-853-2160 to sign up. I won’t be able to do the whole day but I hope to do part of it. You don’t have to do all of it either. C’mon. Meet me at Weis at 4am. It will be fun!

4 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal, migration

4 responses to “Ever want to be in a World Series?

  1. Some year I am going to join a WSB team, but I’m not ready for it quite yet.

  2. Having done this several times, it is a fabulous day, and well worth getting up early on a Saturday!

  3. 114 species spotted in Passaic County. The Pewees came in 3rd in the limited geographic area. I wrote them a check today! Good Job!!!

  4. I’ve done it 3 times, but behind a camera, not bins (though I did put down the camera long enough to get the Swainson’s Warbler at Jake’s Landing in 2002; I’m human, after all). Now that the film is done and launched, I might try to do a WSB for real.

Leave a Reply

