Jonathan Trouern-Trend will speak at the 5th NJ Meadowlands Festival of Birding

Knowing that I love all things birdy, a few years ago, a friend gave me a small birding book called Birding Babylon: A Soldier’s Journal from Iraq. Originally written by Sergeant First Class Jonathan Trouern-Trend during his time north of Bagdad as an online journal, parts were later published.  I found it fascinating to read of the war and the birds he was seeing.

He is going to be giving the keynote speech at the Meadowlands Festival of Birding this Saturday, Sept 13th.  I am looking forward to hearing what he has to say and maybe to get my book autographed.

Are you going to the festival?  Maybe I’ll see you there.  Sigh. If I don’t get lost.

5 Comments

Filed under festival, Local schmocal, migration, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Jonathan Trouern-Trend will speak at the 5th NJ Meadowlands Festival of Birding

  1. You get lost? World traveler adrift in New Jersey?

  2. I attended the keynote and heard his tales of conflict and nature. He showed slides of birds, mammals and reptiles of Iraq and Kuwait and lots of shots of aircraft. While I think his presentation could use some tightening, his experience was amazing. I would love to hear him present on blogging. Nature bloggers could use some encouragement.

  3. Susan

    I was surprised he did not have his books to sell. Where can you get one?

  4. I got mine as a gift–but I think Amazon sells it.

  5. I have this book, I loved it! How wonderful you were able to hear him speak! Wish I could have been there!

    Good birding!

Leave a Reply

