Red Crossbill in NJ

female-red-crossbill

On the 3rd try I finally got a really good look at the female Red Crossbill that I have been stalking since last weekend.  She is a late riser, so I didn’t kill myself getting there super early only to find out that she had been spotted at 7:30am.  Figures.  But not having to work, and wearing heavy winter gear; I was prepared to camp out for hours if need be.  Within 10 minutes of standing in the driveway, however, she appeared at the neighbor’s feeders.  Karla spotted her first and we all got on her.  She would fly back and forth from the feeder to a bare oak almost always with a male Goldfinch.  I left shortly after 11 having seen her many times.  Now, I need a good photo of her.   I have hope, she has been here a week and does not appear to be going anywhere.  This photo is one of the ones Karla Risdon took crawling commando style across her dining room floor as the Crossbill fed in a window feeder.  Thanks Karla for letting me post it.

2 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal, migration, Photos

2 responses to “Red Crossbill in NJ

  1. So is this pretty common, that a different species will hang out with another? Like with the geese, too? That will teach me to look more closely! We don’t have many (any?) goldfinches out here, but when I saw a flock of them, or a pair back East, I always assumed they were the same birds.

  2. Absolutely. Mixed flocks are common especially in winter. I always pay attention to passing flocks of finches, the chickadee/titmouse crowd and Canada Geese. It is one of the best things about winter birding.

Leave a Reply

