Birding in Albuquerque


Anytime you go birding in Albuquerque you need to include the Rio Grande Nature Center State Park in your circuit.  It is close to the downtown and offers a view of a wetland in an otherwise water-starved landscape.  The Visitor’s Center has cement wings with peep holes that extend from the main building giving a view of the main pond and a glass-walled observation room that provides up-close-and-personal looks at the waterfowl.  There are also various trails around the pond and down to the river.


The main attraction the day I was there was the ducks.  Lots and lots of ducks.  There were American Wigeons, Gadwalls, Wood Ducks, Northern Shovelers, Ring-necked Ducks, Mallards, Lesser Scaup, Coots, Redheads and Canada Geese on the pond and Sandhill Cranes in the field on the drive up.

BUT, the craziest thing was a coot that was struggling to eat something in the water.  We all watched it fascinated.  It was whitish and floating.  I thought it was plastic until one of the naturalists came in and told us it was a bullfrog, long-dead, killed by a muskrat.  The coot had been working it for a while.  Um, slimy putrid frog-legs would not be my choice, but then I’m not a coot.



Filed under Photos, Travel

5 responses to “Birding in Albuquerque

  1. Well I will put that on my list of birdie places to visit..I love the wood duck photo…and the crazy frog loving coot..

  2. Definitely looks like a fun place to visit for Birding. I just love to see wood ducks.

  3. One of my favorite places. I’d love something like that observation room around home.

  4. Hi Bev – I’ve decided to add you to my Google reader. Your posts are always so informative and lately they’ve been so relevant to my latest trip to New Mexico. I also saw the wood ducks at the Nature Center, along with a pair of sand hill cranes across the river. I also saw a few northern shovelers. I’m not sure if I saw any of the other ducks, but then I’m not always accurate with my IDs. That’s why I like to get photos so I can compare them with my field guides. I’m glad you posted about the Nature Center. This was my first time visiting; I didn’t know about it other years when I vacationed in New Mexico.

Leave a Reply

