Siskin Visit during an Ice Storm

pine-siskin-in-an-icy-tree

I woke up to a world turned to glass.  Every paved surface was as smooth as a skating rink and icicles dripped from the trees.  The rain that everyone else had down below was freezing rain on the mountain.  The backyard was a flurry of activity as the regular crowd ate its way through yesterday’s seed.  Unable to leave the house, I couldn’t make it out to fill the bird feeders.  With no other option, I stood in the doorway to the deck and tossed handfuls of seed out onto the wind and the ground.  Within an hour, the backyard regulars had been joined by a flock of 20 Goldfinches, 35 Pine Siskins and 1 female Purple Finch.

I have been seeing Pine Siskin flocks flying over, but they had not visited my offerings until today.  And today, I am awash in them.

I happily stood in my toasty house and took photo after photo.

pine-siskin-1

pine-siskins-on-the-deck

pine-siskins

I see on the local ListServ that many people had an influx of Siskins to their feeders during the storm.

13 Comments

Filed under backyard, migration, Photos

13 responses to “Siskin Visit during an Ice Storm

  1. snowbunting

    That looks like my house yesterday! I stopped counting at 72 on the ground and there were a bunch more in the tree…and they are back this morning…it’s colder and snowing now but that is not stopping them! Don’t ya just love them?! 🙂

  2. It looks like the Pine Siskins that were in our yard here in Atlanta on Saturday flew up your way to play in the ice. Great pictures!

  3. I’m sure it was a miserable day for you and the poor Siskins. But, it made for some gorgeous photos! That top one is amazingly evocative!

  4. Wonderful photos. When you get such a dramatic influx, you do know they appreciate your offerings!

  5. I love that last photo!
    I actually think it would be cool to be iced- or snowed-in on top of a mountain, being “forced” to just watch the birds. That almost never happens where I live. 🙂

  6. Nice captures! New camera?

  7. I haven’t seen any at the feeders so far, but I’m sure I will before the winter’s done.

  8. Great Photos…you have very clean windows …..mine aren’t that clean.
    I Feel sorry for those little siskins sitting on the icey branches.

  9. The second photo from the top almost looks like the tree is holding its limb up to support and celebrate the siskin. Birds and Ice make for some pretty cool photos. Nicely captured.

  10. I’m so glad you took some of the ice storm! The birds are dessert, of course.

  11. Pingback: I and the Bird #92 - The picnic party « the Marvelous in nature

  12. Super captures of those cute little guys! I love the last one with the three amigos sitting in the frozen branches of the tree and the close up is spectacular!

Leave a Reply

