Ever Been Thrown a Birding Bone?

great-horned-owlet

“C’mon,” I muttered to myself, “Throw me a bone.”

I had been out for hours combing the woods when I stumbled across another birder sitting on a rock.   I stopped to exchange the usual pleasantries.  After several minutes, she pointed up in a tree behind me and whispered the magic word…”owlet.”  I whipped around.  “Where?” I tried not to shriek.  Sure enough, there was a Great Horned Owlet sitting on a stout branch.  It followed our movement with its eyes but didn’t budge, blink or otherwise seem to care.

Talk about being in the right place at the right time.  Whooooeeee, as bones go, that is a juicy one.

Have you ever driven for hours to a birding hotspot and there is nothing around or been out looking for a specific bird that everyone has seen; that is suppose to be right, THERE but isn’t or you miss the 8 Blackpolls down by the bridge because you were looking in the wrong tree?  (I’m not bitter, really.) But you end up seeing something unexpectedly terrific.  (A Blackburnian bathing, for example.)  I call that the birding bone.  It doesn’t happen often but when it does you will know it.

3 Comments

Filed under Local schmocal

3 responses to “Ever Been Thrown a Birding Bone?

  1. kruger national park in south africa is an absolute wildlife gem, but during peak school holiday season, there can be quite a lot of traffic on the main roads, and when there is lion somewhere nearby, the traffic jams build up pretty quickly.

    when stuck in this – rather bizarre – of traffic jams, there is not much you can do but scan the skies and look in all the surrounding trees. And sometimes, if we were really lucky, there was something really cool just sitting there above our heads, waiting to be ogled. And we never would have seen it if it weren’t for the traffic jam. thank you lions. thank you indeed!

    I loved the way you told the story!

    Happy birding
    Dale
    http://alpinebirds.blogspot.com

  2. Oh my…I want one of those birding bones..
    It had been fun catching up with your blog!

Leave a Reply

